BMI and Warner Chappell Honor ACM Songwriter of the Year Rhett Akins

Leading up to last week’s ACM Honors, BMI and Warner/Chappell Nashville honored ACM Songwriter of the Year Rhett Akins with a special dinner at Jeff Ruby’s Steakhouse. Akins was presented a series of BMI Million-Air Awards totaling over 35 million spins. If played back-to-back, these tracks would total over 240 years of continuous airplay.
“Quite a week for Rhett,” said President, Warner/Chappell Nashville, Ben Vaughn. “He was given more Million-Air Awards than I’ve ever seen given out in one sitting. Everyone in the Warner/Chappell family is so proud – it’s a great feeling to see him being recognized for his exceptional talent.”
The 19 Million-Air awards recognized some of Rhett’s greatest hits, including “Take A Back Road,” “Gimme That Girl,” “Dirt on My Boots,” “I Don’t Want This Night To End,” “That Ain’t My Truck,” and many more. Akins was recognized the following evening at the ACM Honors as this year’s ACM Songwriter of the Year.
Photo Caption:
(Front Row L-R): Kasey Akins, Warner Chappell’s Jessi Vaughn, BMI’s Jody Williams, Sonya Akins, Rhett Akins, Warner Chappell’s Ben Vaughn, BMI’s Leslie Roberts, Lisa Boullt, Pam Akins
(Back Row L-R): Warner Chappell’s Ryan Beuschel, BMI’s Mason Hunter and BMI’s David Preston (Photo: Steve Lowry)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.