Robert Earl Keen Inducted into the Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame

Robert Earl Keen - Photo Cred: Lola Lavender-Hardisty
Robert Earl Keen was inducted into The Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame, on January 17, 2019, during a festive ceremony which included dinner and drinks at the World’s Largest Honky-Tonk, Billy Bob’s Texas.  The Hall of Fame honored Keen at the sold-out event for his prolific music career and charitable acts, presenting him with The Rick Smith “Spirit of Texas Award.” Celebrating the achievements and uniqueness of Texans, the award is dedicated to the memory of Rick Smith, a Texas visionary that left an unforgettable legacy through his concerts, music and the “Live at Billy Bob’s” recordings. Robert Earl Keen joins a prestigious list of other Hall of Fame members which includes Willie Nelson, George Strait, Lyle Lovett, Tommy Lee Jones, Red Steagall, Tuff Hedeman, Pat Green, The Gatlin Brothers, and Clay Walker. 

A permanent display featuring personal memorabilia (selected by Keen) from throughout his career is on exhibit at the museum. The Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame is located at 2515 Rodeo Plaza, Fort Worth, TX.  For more information visit
About the Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame:
Founded in 1997, induction into Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame is the highest honor bestowed on individuals who make a significant contribution to Western culture. Located in Fort Worth, Texas, the Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame is home to more than 140 inductees who represent the best of the best in ranching, business, Entertainment, rodeo, and agriculture. In addition to displays dedicated to inductees of the Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame, museum collections include the Sterquell Wagon Collection and the John Justin Trail of Fame. 

About Robert Earl Keen:
Singer, songwriter, and entertainer Robert Earl Keen has recorded 19 albums and performed thousands of shows, first as a folk singer and now as a country star. He is an avid reader who majored in English at Texas A&M University. His first album was No Kinda Dancer (1984) and most recent is Live Dinner Reunion (2016). His work ranges from country to bluegrass to rock. His songs have been recorded by artists including: George Strait, Lyle Lovett, Nanci Griffith, Joe Ely, Montgomery Gentry, Dixie Chicks, The Highwaymen, Gillian Welch, Todd Snider and Shawn Colvin.  In 2012, he was inducted into the Texas Heritage Songwriters Hall of Fame along with his college friend, Lyle Lovett and the late Townes Van Zandt. In March 2015, BMI honored him as the first recipient of the Troubadour Award. Keen is currently on tour performing shows in 2019 with George Strait, and Lyle Lovett, and will embark on his annual Christmas tour in December. Keen’s signature song is “The Road Goes On Forever.” (