CMT Awards 2019 — A Night For the Ladies of Country Music: Carrie Underwood Takes Home Video of the Year and an Amazing All-Star Female Performance of Delta Dawn with Tanya Tucker

Mandatory Credit: Photo by Andrew H. Walker/Shutterstock (10281493bm) Little Big Town, Karen Fairchild, Kimberly Schlapman, Phillip Sweet, and Jimi Westbrook CMT Music Awards, Arrivals, Bridgestone Arena, Nashville, USA - 05 Jun 2019

The 2019 CMT Awards were held at Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena on Wednesday, June 5th and hosted by Little Big Town.

Country Music’s Biggest Night was opened with a collaboration by Thomas Rhett, Little Big Town, and Trombone Shorty. It was then followed by a free public performance on Broadway by Kane Brown performing “Short Skirt Weather.”

Female Video of the Year was presented by Trisha Yearwood to Carrie Underwood for “Love Wins.”

Jordan Davis then performed “Take It From Me” on the RAM Trucks stage.

Zac Brown Band performed their latest release “Someone I Used to Know.” We had the opportunity to attend their performance in Nashville this year and if you ever get the chance to go to one of their shows, GO. You will not be disappointed.

Jesse James Decker and Sarah Highland presented the award for Collaborative Video of the Year to Keith Urban and Julia Michaels for “Coming Home.”

Tenille Townes then performed “Somebody’s Daughter” on the RAM Truck Stage.

Jimmie Allen and Michael Ray took a moment to talk about CMT Crossroads. Michael Ray said he would like to collab with Post Malone. Jimmie’s collab dream was Matchbox 20. They then introduced Boyz II Men and Brett Young, they performed “Here Tonight.” What an amazing collaboration to have on the CMT Awards.

Duo Video of the Year was then presented to Dan + Shay for “Speechless.” They thanked there beautiful wives Hannah and Abbie for being in the video with them.

Luke Bryan then performed “Knockin’ Boots.’ The performance is reminiscent of a signature performance from the modern superstar from his 2011 performance of “Country Girl (Shake It for Me)” when he had a harem women dancing around him as he sang.

Cody Allan and Katie Cook then introduced Toby Keith for his performance on Broadway of “That’s Country Bro.” He then brought out Cole Swindell to sing with him on “Beer for My Horses.”

Sidenote: There were a lot of solo cups all over the awards show – Midlands beer pong, Toby Keith’s performance, Ashley McBryde’s acceptance speech…. just an observation. Maybe they should have been a sponsor.

Kelsea Ballerini then performed an acoustic rendition of “Miss Me More” to a lit up crowd that then transition into a full band that lit up the whole arena. Her performance was followed by Jimmie Allen singing “Best Shot” on the RAM Truck Stage.

Hunter Hayes and Carly Pearce presented the award for Breakthrough Video of the Year to Ashley McBryde for “Girl Goin’ Nowhere.” The video was made at Nashville’s Marathon Music Works. And New Orleans Schools were chosen for the “Save the Music” Program grant that went along with this award.

Darius Rucker introduced Little Big Town for their performance of their song, “The Daughters.” I can see this on many Wedding playlists in the not too distant future.

Group Video of the Year Award was presented to Zac Brown Band for “Someone That I Used to Know.”

Julia Michaels then introduced Keith Urban as he performed his brand knew song, “We Were.” The song is packed with emotion and imagery, as it looks back on a past love — “At least there’s a little bit of sweet in the bitter.”

Runaway June then performed “Buy My Own Drinks” on the RAM Truck Stage.

Bobby Bones and J-Wow presented the award for Performance of the Year to Luke Combs and Leon Bridges for their CMT Crossroads Performance of “Beautiful Crazy.”

#SeeHerHearHer supports women behind the scene, to helping mentor new female artists. Maren Morris has been doing just that. On the awards she performed “Shade.” More blues-y than country, but it’s good music either way. She then was joined by Sheryl Crow to perform “Prove You Wrong.”

Their performance was followed by Morgan Wallen performing “Whiskey Glasses” on the RAM Truck Stage.

Toby Keith then presented the award for Male Video of the Year to Kane Brown for “Lose It.”

Lindsey Ell and Brantley Gilbert than came out to introduce Dan + Shay on the Outdoor Stage to perform “All To Myself.”

Brandi Carlisle and Tanya Tucker took the stage to perform “Delta Dawn.” An iconic performance, and we love Tanya’s pink hair! Girl Power! They were then joined by some of Country’s greatest female artists including Trisha Yearwood, Martina McBride, Rae Lynne, Deana Carter, Lauren Elaina, and more.

WHAT AN INCREDIBLE MOMENT. 👑 #CMTawards— CMT (@CMT) June 6, 2019

Maddie and Tae then took us to Tootsies to introduce Carrie Underwood performing “Southbound: in a once-in-a-lifetime performance at Nashville’s Parthenon in Centennial Park. It definitely was a night of firsts.

Mitchell Tenpenny then performed “Drunk Me” on the RAM Truck Stage. Keifer Sutherland then came out to present the award for Video of the Year. It was an extensive list, but the fans voted and the award went to Carrie Underwood for “Cry Pretty.”

What goes well with beer pong? Well it is a great beer song. And that’s how they introduced Luke Combs performance of “Beer Never Broke My Heart.” All these solo cups finally make sense!

The CMT Awards are a true show of what the fans of Country want to hear. They have spoken and can be heard by all the artists that not only won but that were also nominated this year.

Story by Amanda Andrews

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.